Top nurses honoured by NZNO

16 September 2015

A Christchurch women's health nurse inspired by her mother's cancer death and a nursing professor specialising in interprofessional practice and perioperative care have received NZNO's top award.

Leanne Lloyd of Christchurch and Professor Marion Jones of Auckland were awarded the New Zealand Nurses Organisation's Award of Honour at a ceremony held in Wellington last night during the organisation's annual conference.Leanne Lloyd Small


NZNO kaiwhakahaere Kerri Nuku said practice nurse Lloyd's passion for women's health stemmed from her mother dying from cervical cancer.

This lead to a focus on women's health and wanting smear tests to be a positive experience and her work has included mentoring nurse smear takers on the Māori perspective of cervical screening.  Lloyd (pictured right) trained as a nurse in her early 30s, soon after gained her postgraduate diploma in nursing and in 2012 established her own independent nursing service that focuses largely on developing cervical and breast screening services. She also provides a support service for young mothers including advocacy with government agencies and is an active member of NZNO and its rūnanga.

Nuku said Lloyd was an inspirational role model and communities wouldn't function without the hard work and passion of people like Leanne.

The Award of Honour was also presented to Marion Jones, Professor of Interprofessional health and Dean of Postgraduate Studies at AUT.  Outgoing NZNO president Marion Guy said Jones' contribution to nursing, and in particular perioperative nursing both nationally and internationally was "exemplary".

Until 2012 she was the Head of the National Centre for Interprofessional Education and Collaborative Practice in NZ, her PhD was on the shaping of interprofessional team practice and she is currently co-editing a second book on interprofessional leadership.  She is an active member of NZNO, fellow of the College of Nurses Aotearoa and both a founding and past executive member of the International Federation of Perioperative Nurses.

“Marion’s name often comes up at international forums in recognition of her significant contribution to perioperative nursing internationally," said Guy at the awards night. "She is politically active in lobbying on behalf of perioperative nurses as well as providing mentorship to the new generation of perioperative nursing leaders. It is a privilege to honour her. 

Service to nursing awards

Five other nurses were honoured at last night's NZNO awards ceremony for their services to nursing.

Auckland clinical nurse director Abel Smith was honoured for leading the way for Pacific nurse leaders.

Initially trained in Fiji he is the founding member and current president of the Fiji Nursing Association of New Zealand and over his 27 year nursing career has been a committed advocate for Pacific nurses and health professionals realising their full potential including working with the NZNO Pacific Nursing Section and the AUT nursing advisory committee.

Waikato gerontology nurse specialist Julie Daltrey was recognised for her contribution to gerontology nursing at a local and national level.

Guy said Daltrey had been actively involved in two national conferences and represented the views of the NZNO gerontology section to the Chief Coroner's Office leading to changes in how deaths are verified. "Julie is an enthusiastic advocate for nursing older adults and empowering nurses working within this speciality. She is dynamic, inspirational, passionate and provides a clear vision and positive presence for Gerontology Nursing."

Auckland sexual health nurse Sonya Temata was honoured for particularly her work in indigenous health in Australia and New Zealand. She has devoted over a decade of her life to volunteer and charity work including the Pacific Women’s Refuge, Auckland City Mission, Alice Springs Women’s Shelter and Friends of Fiji Cardiac Missionary Trip. Sonya Temata is the executive secretary for the Cook Islands Nurses Association Aotearoa, an NZNO delegate, a member of Te Rūnanga Māori Nurses Association, as well as holding many other leadership positions

Enrolled nurses Anita Te Kahu and Dorothy Browning were honoured for their work for both enrolled nursing and for NZNO.  Te Kahu is an active member of the NZNO enrolled nurse section, a Te Rūnanga representative, facilitator of EN study days an a supporter of enrolled nurse students at Whitireia nursing school.

Browning served four years on the national committee of the NZNO enrolled nurse section, is actively involved in mentoring EN students and graduates of MIT and won a Counties Manukau DHB award this year for excellence in clinical practice 

Service to NZNO awards

Three nurses, including the Chair of the College of Primary Health Care Nurses, were honoured for their service to NZNO at the awards ceremony.

Auckland district nurse Judy Hattie, the chair of the PHC nurses college chair since 2013 and an NZNO delegate since 2007, was honoured for her unwavering commitment to working bi-culturally. "Her Māori world view and gentle way of bringing members on the journey to biculturalism has benefitted us all, " said Guy. “Judy’s deep and warm understanding of unionism, professionalism and tikanga is a gift she continues to share with NZNO.”

Also honoured for their NZNO work were Auckland critical care nurse Sam Mojel, Nelson duty nurse manager Bridget Baldwin and Christchurch caregiver Ruth Te Rangi.

Post your comment


No one has commented on this page yet.

RSS feed for comments on this page | RSS feed for all comments